Why use it?

Each year, Moodle courses are refreshed to remove old student data and to prepare them for the next cohort of students. However, course editors can choose to refresh their own courses at any time.

The Reset option allows to empty a course of user data while retaining the course content, activities, resources and other settings.

Resetting a course is irreversible. Choose the items and data that you want to delete carefully.

Step 1: Reset a course

Go to the course page you would like to reset. From the Administration block on the left-hand side of the page, click Reset.

Step 2: Settings

Tip: Click on the question mark icon next to any setting to display extra help or click on Moodle Docs for this page link at the bottom of each page in Moodle for accessing context-specific documentation.

Expand and tick any options that apply.

Note: course content, settings, activities and resources will be retained. Only the user data associated with these will be removed.

If you would like to retain entries (e.g. students' posts) from collaborative activities such as Blogs, Database, Glossary and/or Wiki, make sure the relevant boxes underneath are not ticked.

Once done, click Reset course. Confirm your options and click Continue to finalise.

How to replicate the settings of the Moodle Refresh?

To replicate the settings of a default Moodle Refresh:

  1. Under General set a new Course start date and optionally a Course end date.

  2. Tick the following: Delete events, Delete all notes, Delete all comments, Delete completion data, Delete blog associations, Delete competency ratings.

  3. Under Roles, select the following: Teacher, Student, Auditing - student

  4. Ensure Delete all overrides in course and Delete all local role assignments are ticked.

4. Under Gradebook, ensure Delete all items and categories and Delete all grades are ticked

5. Under Groups, ensure Delete all groups and Remove all group members are ticked. However, ensure Delete all groupings is NOT ticked, or you will find resources and activities that are restricted to group members will cease to function.

6. Under Forums, ensure Delete all posts is ticked. Ensure Delete all per-user forum digest preferences and Delete all forum subscriptions are NOT ticked, to retain the preferences of those who will remain enrolled after the reset.

7. Under Assignments, ensure Delete all submissions, Delete all user overrides and Delete all group overrides are ticked.

8. If you are using Turnitin Assignments (V2), ensure you select Replace Turnitin Assignments (Replace Assignment Parts, Reuse Turnitin Class) from the drop-down list. Please also see the note on that page regarding the Use new assignment dates option.

If you would like to retain entries (e.g. students' posts) from collaborative activities such as Blogs, Database, Glossary and/or Wiki, make sure the relevant boxes underneath are not ticked.

Click the Reset course button at the bottom of the page and wait for the process to complete.