Use marking allocation

Why use it?

Marking allocation is useful when there are several markers as it allows individual teachers to be allocated to mark specific student submissions. Once they have been allocated, teachers only see their marking and an overview of all marks can be viewed via the main marking table and the grading marksheet.

Step 1: Enable marking allocation in settings

To enable marking allocation you must also use marking workflow (see https://lse.atlassian.net/wiki/spaces/MG/pages/54657083 ), you can enable both features in the edit settings of a Moodle assignment.

This means that teachers can be selected to grade or review the submitted work of specific students.


Step 2: Allocate markers

Markers can be allocated by Teacher editors or Managers on the main submissions table or via the grading screen. To allocate markers once you have set up the assignment go to view all submissions and ensure that you have enabled quick grading at the bottom of the submissions table.

You should then see a marker field in the submissions table with a drop down option to choose the marker from a list of teachers on the course.


Allocation can then be done in bulk, by class group (if use separate groups is set to yes), by all submissions or individually.

Step 3: Marking and review

Once markers have been allocated each teacher will only see their allocated marking. They can update their marking progress using the marking workflow and flag any work that needs reviewing for moderation.

This allows Teacher editors and Managers to see at a glance who is marking what on the main submissions table, compare markers and filter to particular markers.

If ‘offline grading marksheet’ is set to ‘yes’ in the assignment settings (under ‘Feedback types’) then you can download the marking worksheet containing the marker details.

N.B. The grader information displayed to students will be the last person to have viewed the submission in grading view (anyone that clicks on the Grade button ) and saves the changes.